Welcome to USA’s home of Traditional Judo For All

Traditional Kodokan Judo is simply the practice of Kodokan Judo as described in the text “Kodokan Judo” by Prof. Jigoro Kano, without the “overwhelming emphasis” on sport of Judo; studying the history, etiquette, waza and kata of Kodokan Judo and enjoying them for what they are – “The knowledge, skills and a way of life” based on principles taught by its founder, Prof. Kano.


"The Ultimate Goal of Kodokan Judo is the Perfection of Human Character and to Benefit the World.”

Judo Video Libraray

Subscribe to Newsletter



Masters Caucus & Committees




  • AlabamaMark Barlow
  • Arkansas: Brian Dugger
  • Arizona: John Linebarger, Walt Sweet
  • California (Central)Neil Ohlenkamp
  • California (Southern): Gene LeBell, GokorChivichyan
  • Colorado: Mathew Bayley, Bob Davis, Gene Tomby
  • Connecticut: David Burs
  • Delaware: Michael Graves
  • FloridaDave Parritt, Jeffrey Cook, Earl DelValle, John Newton
  • GeorgiaToshiaki Takikawa & Matt Larsen
  • Hawaii: Samuel C. Luke
  • Illinois: Ben Bergwerf, John Ryan III & Edward Kuras
  • Indiana: Billy Ray Smith & John Nanay
  • Iowa:Bill Cooley
  • Kansas:Robert Boggs, Doug Perrin
  • Kentucky: Kathy Howdieshell, John Looney
  • Louisiana: Robert M. Carver, Darryn Melerine
  • Maryland: David Bish & Julio Zarate
  • Massachusetts: Santos Hernandez & Sean Gately
  • Michigan: Shaunton Davis, Tony M. Zimkowski
  • Minnesota: K. Joel Coles
  • Mississippi: Chris Dewey
  • Missouri: Steve Scott


Central Technical Committee
Roger A. Jarrett, Chairman

  • Hiro Takahashi
  • Jim Harrison
  • Gene LeBell
  • John F. Chatwood

Membership Committee
Donna K. Cosper, Chairman

  • Curtis L. Hale
  • John Annable
  • Charles Carter

Event Organizing Committee
John F. Chatwood, Chairman

  • John Linebarger
  • John Annable

Tournament Administration and Rules Committee
Bruce R. Bethers, Chairman

Coaching Committee
Patrick M. Hickey, Chairman

  • Albert Pecoraro
  • Steve Scott

Referee Committee
Roger A. Jarrett, Chairman

  • Earl DelValle
  • Jose Dominquez

Athletes Advisory Committee
David S. Ames, Chairman

  • Louis Begue
  • Chris Wood
  • David Bonner
  • John Linebarger
  • Barbara O'Connor
  • Chris Beihl
  • Fred Parrish
  • Glenn Hall
  • Chad White

Women's Development Committee
Corinne Housley, Chairperson

  • Lesley Anderson
  • Delva Mandrell
  • Donna K. Cosper
  • Alicia Miller
  • Pamela Hickey
  • Carolyn Hofer
  • Margaret Williams
  • Corinne Housely
  • Kimberly Linebarger

Medical Committee
Robert Erickson, M.D., Chairman

  • David G. Mata, RN
  • Ray Leone, D.O.
  • Robert Freda, M.D.

Law and Legislation Committee
Ernest G. McPeek, J.D., Chairman

  • Joel McTague, JD
  • Robert Bobinski, JD

Information Management Committee
Robert M. Carver, Chairman

Marketing Committee
Nadeem Ansari, Chairman

  • John Newton
  • Mike Akbari

Finance Committee
John F. Chatwood, Chairman

  • Donna K. Cosper
  • Ann Osborne, CPA

Special Advisors and Noteworthy Leaders


Gone, but not forgotten
USA-TKJ Leaders that have passed on...


USA TRADITIONAL KODOKAN JUDO™  is a Non-Profit Corporation and the USA National Governing Body (NGB) for Judo with the World Judo Federation (WJF).

National Office
3816 Bellingham Drive
Reno, Nevada 89511


Email: natlhq (dot) usatkj (at) gmail (dot) com

Social Networks